Chamberlain Scholar Report from AFP International Conference

Dear AFP Central Florida Board of Directors,
Please accept this report from the 51st International Conference on Fundraising in San Antonio, Texas in fulfillment of my  Imagerequirements.

The AFP Conference was an amazing experience! I embraced the conference experience even before I left home, by creating a profile on the AFPShift App. During the conference, I used the application to post pictures, make observations, and contributed comments to other’s postings. My AFP Peep and I were ubiquitous on the social media scene (see attached photos). What fun!

I attended all three full days of educational sessions, starting with the First Timers Orientation which assisted me in mapping out my conference strategy. There were so many great speakers. Many times I wish I could split myself into two so I could attend conflicting sessions. During the conference, I earned 10 points toward CFRE CEU’s in category 1.B. What free time I did have between sessions was spent wandering the Marketplace Exhibition Hall, going booth to booth soaking up information, and attending several special lab sessions. I was mesmerized during the general sessions. I especially enjoyed hearing Steve Wozniak, Co-Founder of Apple Computer.

During the conference I volunteered to serve as host to two speakers: ImageAdam Burk, presenting on social media, and Mary Kate Ash, presenting on the female philanthropist. I met with the speakers before their event, making sure they were comfortable with their room’s visual set up, that they had water, introduced them with a short biography, took attendance, and kept the speakers on time ending their presentation. Of course, I also took a picture of my AFP Peep and I with the presenter, and posted it on the AFPShift App.

The conference was not all work. The best part was hanging out with my fellow AFP – Central Florida Chapter Members. We took a river boat ride, meandering around the city’s riverbed, learning about the city’s history and admiring the architecture. San Antonio is a beautiful city. I also learned about the more gruesome side of the city, by taking a ghost walking tour that started at the Alamo and went around the city’s historic district. At the After Dark Party, I joined in the conga line behind a flamingo dancer and danced to the mariachi band.
Image
The AFP International Conference was an amazing experience that I will never forget. I gained significant knowledge and tools to apply at my organization. Because I ended up on the top leaderboard for my activity on the AFPShift App, I won a $100 discount to apply to my next AFP membership. I will most definitely use it. I am proud to be a member of the hottest chapter in the nation. I’m feeling the sizzle.

Thank you for making this opportunity possible. Thank you for believing in me.
Image
Respectfully submitted,

Mary Lee Walker … and my AFP Peep.

Leave a Reply

